At the 2016 International Association of Healthcare Central Service Materiel Management (IAHCSMM) Conference held in San Antonio, Texas, Healthmark announced Patricia Pabon as the winner of the IAHCSMM 2016 Anne Cofiell Decontaminator of the Year Award.

Pabon is the certified registered central sterile technician at St. John’s Riverside Hospital and has spent the last five years working in the sterile processing field.

Sponsored by Healthmark, the Anne Cofiell Decontaminator of the Year Award is given out annually by IAHCSMM. This award recognizes an individual who demonstrates exceptional understanding of the importance of decontamination to achieve proper reprocessing of medical devices. The winner receives $1,000 toward expenses to attend the annual IAHCSMM Conference and also receives a commemorative plaque.