FDA Updates Information on Respirator Decontamination Systems

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is reissuing the Emergency Use Authorizations for decontamination systems that are authorized to decontaminate compatible N95 respirators for use by healthcare personnel (HCP) to prevent exposure to pathogenic biological...

First Patient Treated in Clinical Trial of BCL System

CairnSurgical, Inc., an innovator striving to make breast cancer surgery more precise, announced that the first patient has been treated in its U.S. pivotal trial of the Breast Cancer Locator (BCL) System at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Rush Oak Park Hospital Adopts Surgical Workflow Technology, ExplORer Surgical, Increasing Team Confidence and Reducing OR Challenges

ExplORer Surgical, the only comprehensive intraoperative case support and workflow platform, has reinvented the way surgical support teams prepare and complete effective surgeries with two-way video for case support and remote proctoring to create a digitized playbook.

AORN Releases 2021 Guidelines for Perioperative Practice

The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) has published the 2021 Guidelines for Perioperative Practice with six revised guidelines.

American Academy of Nursing Launches the COVID-19 Courage Award to Honor the Incredible Contributions of Nurses

The American Academy of Nursing (Academy) recently opened nominations for the COVID-19 Courage Award to honor the incredible contributions nurses have made to save lives, advance health equity, and protect communities during the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. This award, made possible through the generous support of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), will provide $8,000 in funding for professional development to each nurse selected, so that their leadership is further advanced— yielding continued and sustained impact. Four nurses, at any stage of their career, will be awarded for their work in one of the following categories: Policy, Leadership, Innovation, and Science.

The Academy is committed to celebrating the achievements of the most exceptional nurses. Through this new, one-time award, the Academy is honored to recognize nurses who are serving as exemplars within the profession in the face of adversity during a pandemic that continues to place the public’s health in peril and alter our lives globally.

“In the International Year of the Nurse and the Midwife, the critical role of nurses is significantly amplified and the hallmarks of our profession—courage, creativity, compassion, and resilience—are what the world needs right now,” said Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN. “That is why we are so honored to partner with RWJF to acknowledge four incredible nurses for their extraordinary impact serving patients during the COVID-19 pandemic. This award, based on the Academy’s mission and its three signature initiatives, will celebrate the policy, leadership, innovation, and science nurses have championed in this unprecedented time.”

The Academy thanks the dedicated task force convened to develop the award criteria, which includes:

  • Felesia Bowen, PhD, DNP, APRN, FAAN, Associate Professor & Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs, Medical University of South Carolina College of Nursing;
  • Jessie Casida, PhD, MS, RN, APN-C, FAAN, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing;
  • Tommy Dickinson, PhD, RN, FAAN, Head of the Department of Mental Health Nursing, King’s College London;
  • Anne Gross, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Senior Vice President, Patient Care Service & Chief Nursing Officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute;
  • Mary Gullatte, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, AOCN, FAAN, Corporate Director for Nursing Research, Innovation, and Evidence-Based Practice, Emory Healthcare;
  • Susan Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN, Senior Adviser for Nursing, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation;
  • Maureen McCausland, DNSc, RN, FAAN, Senior Advisor, McChrystal Group, Visiting Scholar at the Boston College Connell School of Nursing

The COVID-19 Courage Award will be presented during the 2020 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference, occurring virtually October 29-31, 2020. Any nurse, around the globe, is eligible to receive the award; however, nominations must be submitted by a Fellow of the Academy in good standing. The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, September 8, 2020. Learn more and nominate a nurse here.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *