After nearly 40 years, the AAAHC has enacted a new governance model that transitions the organization to a focused 13-member board of directors. With the new governance structure, the AAAHC is evolving to a new model that will better position AAAHC to expand in the health care accreditation industry.

The newly-appointed 2018-2019 officers bring extensive experience and expertise in patient-centric ambulatory care to their leadership roles. They are:

  • Arnaldo Valedon, MD, Board Chair
  • Ira Cheifetz, DMD, Chair-Elect
  • Timothy Peterson, MD, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Kenneth M. Sadler, DDS, MPA, Immediate Past Board Chair

“Our governance model will strengthen our ability to best service organizations that are seeking continuous improvement in the quality of patient care delivered in the ambulatory setting,” said Arnaldo Valedon, MD, AAAHC incoming board chair. “The new governance structure will drive the development and implementation of a multi-year strategic plan to better position AAAHC for enhanced growth and to continue its commitment to health care quality through accreditation.”

The nine elected non-officers possess a diverse scope of knowledge, and they will continue to focus on engagement and growth opportunities across all specialties. They are:

  • W. Patrick Davey, MD
  • Jan Davidson, RN, MSN
  • Lawrence Kim, MD
  • Joy Himmel, PsyD
  • Mark Mandell-Brown, MD
  • S. Teri McGillis, MD
  • Dennis Schultz, MD
  • David Shapiro, MD
  • Edwin Slade, DMD, JD

“This is an historic event in the life of any association,” said Noel M. Adachi, president and chief executive officer. “I am very proud of the action our board has taken to advance AAAHC – a decision which is to the benefit of the organization and in service to our mission. I look forward to working with the new board to help lead our organization as we continue to support high-quality patient care.”