UVDI-360 Room Sanitizer Inactivates SARS-CoV-2 at 12 Feet Distance in 5 Minutes

UltraViolet Devices Inc. (UVDI) has announced that its UVDI-360 Room Sanitizer achieved greater than 99.99%, or 4log10, inactivation of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus-2 (SARS-CoV-2) in 5 minutes at a distance of 12 feet (3.65 meters).

oneSOURCE Creates Free Resource Page with Up-to-Date COVID-19 Vaccine Information

Today, oneSOURCE, an RLDatix company and leading healthcare management solution, announced a new COVID-19 vaccine resource page to assist healthcare professionals during the initial administration phases of the vaccine.

STERIS to Acquire Cantel Medical

STERIS plc and Cantel Medical Corp. announced that STERIS has signed a definitive agreement to acquire Cantel, through a U.S. subsidiary. Cantel is a global provider of infection prevention products and services primarily to endoscopy and dental Customers.

NEC Releases ‘WISE VISION Endoscopy’ in Europe and Japan

NEC Corporation has announced the development of “WISE VISION Endoscopy,” an AI diagnosis-support medical device software for colonoscopies, which is being released in Japan and is expected to soon be available in Europe.

Time to Submit Patient Safety and Quality Award Nominations

Two of the nation’s leaders in healthcare quality and patient safety, The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF), are seeking submissions for the 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. This patient safety awards program was launched in 2002 in honor of the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and an impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement with enduring contributions and leadership to the healthcare field.

The Eisenberg Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality. Previous winners includeGordon D. Schiff, MD, Brent C. James, MD, HCA Healthcare,The Society of Thoracic Surgeons,WellSpan Health,and BJC HealthCare, among many others who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to improving patient safety and healthcare quality.

Submissions are accepted for awards in three categories:

  • Individual Achievement – Individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and healthcare quality through a substantive lifetime body of work.
  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – A project or initiative that extends beyond local areas to being implemented on a national level.
  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality – A project or initiative that effects impact at the local community, organization or regional level (e.g., statewide).

Healthcare organizations submitting nominations for the local and national level innovation awards must be able to provideevidence of sustained improvements for at least 12 months. Exceptions to this rule will be made for initiatives related to COVID-19 and pandemic response efforts, as The Joint Commission and NQF recognize the need to share best practices for the rapid improvement of COVID-19 patient care nationwide.

The award submission period opened on Aug. 24, 2020 and closes on Oct. 5, 2020. Applications will be evaluated by a panel of experts and leaders in healthcare quality and safety, chaired by Carolyn Clancy, MD, Deputy Undersecretary for Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks (10X), Veterans Health Administration.Interested parties may learn more about past Eisenberg Award achievements on The Joint Commission’s and NQF’s websites and can apply for the award here.




Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *