JointMedica’s Polymotion Hip Resurfacing System Granted Breakthrough Device Designation

Exactech has announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has granted a Breakthrough Device Designation for JointMedica’s Polymotion Hip Resurfacing System. Exactech, a minority shareholder of JointMedica Limited, is collaborating with the United...

Paragon 28 Expands Soft Tissue Portfolio

Paragon 28 Inc., a medical device company exclusively focused on the foot and ankle orthopedic market, has announced an expansion of its soft-tissue portfolio with the launch of its Grappler Suture Anchor System. The Grappler Suture Anchor System provides surgeons an...

National Medical Billing Services Acquires Medi-Corp Inc.

National Medical Billing Services, a health care revenue cycle management (RCM) company serving the surgical market, has acquired Medi-Corp Inc., a nationwide RCM services provider specializing in anesthesia, ASCs and pain management. “This partnership will further...

Ga. Governor Signs Surgical Smoke Legislation

Georgia Governor Brian P. Kemp recently signed several bills designed to benefit health care providers and patients in Georgia. The new laws will also strengthen the state's health care system, according to a news release. One piece of legislation signed into law by...

IAHCSMM Announces 2021 Award Recipients

The International Association of Healthcare Central Service Materiel Management’s (IAHCSMM’s) awards program honors Sterile Processing (SP) professionals each year who demonstrate exceptional leadership, dedication and service in the SP discipline.

Numerous qualified candidates submitted nominations for the 2021 IAHCSMM Awards. The IAHCSMM Board of Directors carefully reviewed each submission and has named the following as this year’s award recipients*:

Confidence Builder Award

St. Luke’s Hospital
Sterile Processing Department
Chesterfield, Mo.

CS Leadership Award

Mohammed Shariyar Haji, CRCST
CSSD Manager
Sultan Bin Abdulaziz Humanitarian City
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Decontaminator of the Year Award

Medical Supply Technician
Syracuse Veterans Health Administration Medical Center
Syracuse, N.Y.

Technician Achievement Award

Janet Vos, CRCST, CIS
Sterile Processing Tech III
Idaho Surgery Center
Caldwell, Idaho

Chapter of the Year Award

  • Large Chapter: California Central Service Association
  • Medium Chapter: Northeast Ohio Central Service Association
  • Small Chapter: Western Wisconsin Chapter of IAHCSMM



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.