Italians Share Novel Operating Room Research Using UVDI-360 Room Sanitizer

UltraViolet Devices Inc. (UVDI) has announced new research demonstrating the UVDI-360 Room Sanitizer’s rapid disinfection of operating rooms between surgical procedures will be presented at this month’s Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA) Spring Conference.

The Joint Commission issues Sentinel Event Alert on optimizing medication safety with smart infusion pumps

A new Sentinel Event Alert from The Joint Commission, “Optimizing smart infusion pump safety with DERS,” describes how built-in dose error reduction software (DERS) can improve patient safety.

Hensler Bone Press Receives CE Certification

Hensler Surgical Technologies has announced its newly obtained CE mark for the Hensler Bone Press (HBP).

Healthmark Offers New Anti-Fatigue Mat

Healthmark Industries has introduced an Anti-Fatigue Mat to its Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) product line.

Extended Deadline for AAMI Awards & Scholarships

Extended Deadline for AAMI Awards & Scholarships

Contact: Brian Stallard,, (703) 647-2771

You can make sure that your deserving peers are recognized for their achievements by nominating them for an AAMI or AAMI Foundation award. Ambitious researchers and innovators are similarly encouraged to apply for unique scholarship and grant opportunities. And now there is a little more time to do so!

The deadline for all submissions has been extended until January 18th. This includes deadlines for AAMI awards, AAMI Foundation awards, grants, and scholarships.

According to Sabrina Reilly, vice president of Membership at AAMI, the extension is to help accommodate for a particularly disruptive year.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has changed work and professional lives alike. We want to make sure every deserving nominee or applicant has the time to leverage the opportunities for professional growth and recognition that AAMI is offering,” she said.

Award winners will receive a monetary prize, a plaque commemorating their achievements, and recognition at the 2021 AAMI Exchange, June 4–7 in Charlotte, NC.

AAMI Awards

There are several types of awards and scholarships:

AAMI Awards recognize achievement in patient safety and healthcare technology management (HTM) leadership.

AAMI Foundation Awards recognize an individual or group for a unique or significant contribution to the advancement of healthcare technology and systems, service, patient care, or patient safety; humanitarian efforts to improve global human conditions with healthcare technology; or applied clinical engineering practices or principles to solve patient care problems or challenges. Submit your nomination online.

Grants and Scholarships are also being offered with Jan. 18 submission deadlines:

  • The AAMI Foundation Michael J. Miller Scholarship Program, which was created in 2009 in honor of past AAMI president Michael J. Miller, provides financial support to students who are pursuing an education in healthcare technology. Every year, the AAMI Foundation awards scholarships to students aspiring to become biomedical equipment technicians, clinical engineers, and health systems engineers. These scholarships expand access to students who have demonstrated academic excellence, technical aptitude, and a commitment to healthcare technology and patient safety.
  • The Kilmer Scholarship Award will provide academic assistance to individuals entering or continuing in the field of microbiological quality or sterility assurance. The scholarships can be applied to field-related undergraduate or graduate programs, including industrial microbiology, engineering (chemical, electrical, mechanical, or biomedical), physics, and pharmacy.
  • Standards Developer Award. Awarded for major contribution(s) to the development or revision of a specific standard. This award is given to up to five people annually for major contribution(s) to the development or revision of a specific AAMI standard or international (ISO or IEC) standard under development by an international committee or subcommittee administered by AAMI, or for ongoing contribution(s) or service towards notable advances in standards development.
  • AAMI Technical Committee Award. Awarded to an AAMI technical committee to recognize outstanding committee efforts. This award is made to up to two AAMI technical committees (includes AAMI technical committees and working groups, and AAMI technical advisory groups and technical advisory sub-groups) annually to recognize upstanding Committee efforts.

The deadline for The AAMI Fellows Program, which recognizes individuals who have provided substantial service and contributions to AAMI and to the health technology field, remains unchanged. The program is accepting applicants until January 22, 2021.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *